The Piano Education Page is a non-profit, non-commercial site, operated as a public service since 1995.

Last Upgraded: January 13, 2021

The Piano Education Page en Español

Welcome to the Piano Education Page

The Piano Education Page uses Cascading Style Sheets to improve its appearance. Your browser does not support CSS or has failed to load the necessary stylesheet. You can download current versions of Firefox or Edge at no cost and view PEP as it was designed.

The Piano Education Page (PEP), founded in 1995, is a non-commercial, unbiased, one-stop resource for teachers, students, parents of students, and fans of the piano. It has over 1000 pages of family-friendly information, upgraded regularly. Our newest Featured Upgrades are below, or you can use the PEP Program Notes, below left and in the upper left part of the page anywhere else on the site, to read anything or everything. For help with navigating and using PEP to best advantage, see Getting the Most From The Piano Education Page. Thanks for visiting!

Top of page! PEP Quick Starts: Help, Getting the Most From PEP, PEP 20th.  Starting Points: For Everybody, For Teachers, For Parents, For Kids  Search: By keyword(s), By page title, By page type

Piano Education Page

New article for teachers, Teaching Students Who Play by Ear

New article for teachers, parents and students, Making the Most of Piano Competition Judging
New for kids, Meet the Composer interview with Franz Liszt

Listening Focus

Ornamentation, in music

Music for MIDI plug-in

Arabesque #1
by Claude Debussy

(MIDI sequence by Jeruen E. Dery)
(Other Parts of Listening Focus: Audition Room, Listening List and Composer Resource, and Just for Kids)


Enjoy your visit and come back soon!

The Piano Education Page
Created: August 3, 1995;
Last Upgraded: January 13, 2021

Site Policies Credits About Feedback Reprinting

Reprinting from the Piano Education Page The Piano Education Page, Op. 10, No. 1,
© Copyright 1995-2021 John M. Zeigler. All rights reserved.